May 28 2014 08:30 AM

A guide to a better world, in handy, clip-out form


For those traditionalists who like to vote in-person on Election Day, below is our clip-out guide that you can take to the polls. Since we published our detailed endorsements on May 7, some new information has come to light:

First, Voice of San Diego ran a story about Oceanside Mayor Jim Wood, whom we endorsed for the District 5 seat on the county Board of Supervisors. Turns out he's super-creepy when it comes to interacting with women. So, we're pulling our endorsement. It's really too bad, because he's running against incumbent Supervisor Bill Horn, who's just the worst kind of awful.

Next, former CityBeat investigative reporter Dave Maass revealed on Facebook that Donna Woodrum, one of the candidates running for San Diego Community College District's governing board, is a leader of an organization that "believes that homosexuality can be cured with treatment, climate change is a hoax, and that Muslims are the greatest threat to America." In our May 7 issue, we didn't make endorsements for the college district board, but we do here.

Please vote on June 3. And please convince your friends to vote—we need people to turn out, particularly to vote yes on Propositions B and C.

Governor: Jerry Brown

Lieutenant Governor: Gavin Newsom

Secretary of State: Derek Cressman

Controller: Ashley Swearengin (ha!)

Treasurer: John Chiang

Attorney General: Kamala Harris

Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tom Torlakson

Insurance Commissioner: Dave Jones

Board of Equalization, District 3: Lewis Da Silva (R) or Nader Shahatit (D)

U.S. Representative, District 49: No endorsement

U.S. Representative, District 50: James Kimber

U.S. Representative, District 51: No endorsement

U.S. Representative, District 52: SCOTT PETERS!

U.S. Representative, District 53: Susan Davis

State Senate, District 36: No endorsement

State Senate, District 38: Fotios "Frank" Tsimboukakis

State Senate, District 40: Ben Hueso

State Assembly, District 71: Tony Teora

State Assembly, District 75: No endorsement

State Assembly, District 76: Rocky Chavez

State Assembly, District 77: Ruben Hernandez

State Assembly, District 78: Toni Atkins

State Assembly, District 79: Shirley Weber

State Assembly, District 80: Lorena Gonzalez

Superior Court Judge, Office 9: Ronald Prager

Superior Court Judge, Office 19: Michael Popkins

Superior Court Judge, Office 20: Carla Keehn

Superior Court Judge, Office 25: Brad Weinreb

Superior Court Judge, Office 44: Joseph Adelizzi

San Diego Community College, District A: Maria Nieto Senour

San Diego Community College, District C: Rich Grosch

San Diego Community College, District: Peter Zschiesche

San Diego Unified School, District B: Kevin Beiser

San Diego Unified School, District C: Michael McQuary

Board of Supervisors, District 4: Ron Roberts

Board of Supervisors, District 5:  No endorsement

Assessor / Recorder / Clerk: Susan Guinn

District Attorney: Bob Brewer

Treasurer / Tax Collector: Dan McAllister

San Diego City Council, District 2:   SARAH BOOT!

San Diego City Council, District 4: No endorsement

San Diego City Council, District 6: CAROL KIM!

San Diego City Council, District 8: David Alvarez

San Diego Proposition A: Yes

San Diego Propositions B and C: YES and YES!

State Proposition 41: Yes

State Proposition 42: Yes


See all events on Friday, Dec 2