June 26 2011 12:00 AM

Ballot deadline for public vote is July 25

Black Mikey is nominated for Best Hip-Hop
Time to bust out the champagne: The San Diego Music Foundation announced the nominees for the 2011 San Diego Music Awards today. (Disclosure: SDMF President Kevin Hellman is CityBeat's publisher.) The list of nominees (below) includes usual suspects like Jason Mraz, Slightly Stoopid and Switchfoot, but also includes fresh blood like indie-pop duo TV Girl and old-school gangster rapper Black Mikey. Meanwhile, celebrated punk-rockers The Penetrators will get this year's Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Winners in the non-album category are decided by public vote; album categories are decided by members of the SDMA Academy (which includes yours truly). Head to the SDMA website to vote for your favorites. The ballot deadline is July 25 and the awards ceremony goes down at Humphreys by the Bay on Monday, Aug. 8. Get tickets here

Artist of the Year 
Jason Mraz 
Slightly Stoopid 
The Silent Comedy 

Album of the Year 
Augustana- self-titled
Crocodiles - Sleep Forever 
Dynamite Walls - Chemical 
Little Hurricane - Homewrecker 
Switchfoot- Easter Hymns 
The Donkeys - Born With Stripes 
Unwritten Law - Swan 
Vokab Kompany – Quit Sleep 

Song of the Year 
Augustana - "Steal Your Heart"
Crocodiles - "Mirrors" 
Dynamite Walls – "Keep Spinning Around" 
Little Hurricane - "Haunted Heart"
Switchfoot – "The Sound"
The Soft Pack – "Answer to Yourself" 
Transfer - "Losing Composure"
Unwritten Law – "Starships and Apocalypse"

Best New Artist 
Chairs Missing
Cry For Us Black Swans 
Low Volts 
Sister Speak 
Stevie & the Hi-Stax 
The Groove Kitties 
The Tilt 
TV Girl 

Best Tribute Band 
Cash'd Out 
Dazed & Confused 
Detroit Underground 
Still Ill 
The Cured 
Thunder Road 

Best Jazz 
Chase Morrin 
Gilbert Castellanos 
In Motion Trio 
Mattson 2 
Nena Anderson 
Purity of Essence 
Steph Johnson 

Best Acoustic 
Christy Bruneau 
Colin Clyne 
Dave Humphries 
Jordan Reimer 
Marie Haddad 
Peter Hall 
Robin Henkel 
Scott Mathiasen 

Best Blues 
Bill Magee Blues Band 
Chet & The Committee 
Johnny Vernazza 
Lady Dottie & the Diamonds 
Michele Lundeen 
Missy Anderson 
Nathan James 
Tomcat Courtney 

Best World Music 
Agua Dulce 
B-Side Players 
Elijah Emanuel & the Revelations 
Fabulous Rudies 
Split Finger 
The Devastators 
Tribal Seeds 

Best Americana 
Bill Cardinal and The Canyon Band 
Blackout Party 
Jesse LaMonaca and The Dime Novels 
John Meeks 
Sara Petite 
The Farmers
The Tree Ring 

Best Hip-Hop 
Anti Citizens 
Black Mikey 
Black Resume 
Blame One 
Deep Rooted 
El Gun Legro 
Grammatical B 
Vokab Kompany 

Best Pop 
321 Stereo 
AJ Croce 
Dynamite Walls 
Kevin Martin 
Lights On 
Ryan Blue & Centerlight Pop 
The Silent Comedy 
Wendy Bailey 

Best Alternative 
Cuckoo Chaos 
Grand Tarantula 
Gun Runner 
Little Hurricane 
Republic of Letters 
Smile Now, Cry Later 
The Old In Out 

Best Rock 
A Scribe Amidst the Lions 
Black Hondo 
The Burning of Rome 
The Donkeys 
The Howls
The Loons 
The Old In Out 

Best Hard Rock 
As I Lay Dying 
Cattle Decapitation 
Ghetto Blaster 
The Long and Short of It 

Best Club 
DJ Artistic 
Chris Cutz 
DJ Claire 
Fresh One 
Gabe Vega 
Junior The Discopunk 
Mike Czech 

Best Electronic 
Drew Andrews 
Inspired Flight 
Jamuel Saxon 
Marcelo Radulovich 
Porcelain Fangs 
White Apple Tree 

Best Pop Album 
Christopher Dale – Songs I know by Heart 
Dynamite Walls - Chemicals 
Echo Revolution - Counterfeit Sunshine 
Gayle Skidmore - Make Believe 
Golden Red – self-titled
Lights On - Here Comes the Ocean 
Maren Parusel - Artificial Gardens 
The Very – The Discovery 

Best Rock Album 
Astra Kelly – Timebomb 
Black Hondo – self-titled
Rafter - Quiet Storm  
Rat City Riot – Better Than Nothing 
Someday Assassin – Plague of Babies 
The Donkeys - Born with Stripes 
The Nervous Wreckords - Valuminium  
The Secret Seven – Turn Your Back to the Sea 

Best Alternative Album 
D/Wolves - Freak of Nature 
Heavy Hawaii - HH 
Hyena - We See You 
Little Hurricane - Homewrecker 
New Mexico - Have You Met My Friend? 
Republic of Letters - Stories
Spero Lumina - Stained Glass Maze 
The Heavy Guilt - In The Blood 

Best Hard Rock Album 
Downspell – The Violent Majority 
My Elysian – self-titled
Pathology - Legacy of the Ancients 
Silence Betrayed – Fault Lines 
Symbolic – Nevertime 
Taz Taylor – Big Dumb Rock 
The New Regime - Speak Through the White Noise 
Under the Stone – self-titled

Best Hip Hop Album 
Blame One - Endurance 
Genghis Khan – Night Gallery 
Grammatical B & Microphone Mike - The Birthinating 
Mr. Brady - Labor of Love 
Parker and the Numberman - Early 
Strong Arm Steady - Arms & Hammers 
Treali Duce - A Man's Heart 
Vokab Kompany – Quit Sleep 

Best Blues Album 
Big Shot Reub and the Reloaders - Roundhouse Blues 
Big Slim - When We Were Young 
Low Volts - Twist Shake Grind Break 
Number One Blues Band – self-titled
Stevie & the Hi-Stax - Make Believe 
Stoney B Blues Band – It's Showtime 
Tiffany Jane – Love Stories 
Tori Roze & The Hot Mess - From The Hip 

Best Jazz Album 
Candye Kane & Sue Palmer - One Night in Belgium 
Genius of Soul - A Project for the New! American Century 
Gregory Page – My True Love 
Miss Erika Davies - Galaxy Lakes 
Patrick Yandall – The Window 
Peter Sprague – Calling Me Home 
Mattson 2 - Feeling Hands 
Wayne Riker Quintet - Penumbral Sky 

Best Americana Album 
Berkley Hart - Crow 
Folding Mr. Lincoln - Live at Old Time Music 
Podunk Nowhere -Stay Warm Hearted 
Pushin Rope - Blood on the Line 
River City – Into the Quiet 
Shawn Rohlf and the Buskers – Tiny X's 
The Smart Brothers - Make It Last 
The Tree Ring - Generous Shadows 

Best World Music Album 
Akayaa – Masoh 
Camarada – Tango Nuevo 
Enchanted Realms – self-titled
Jet West - Dropping In 
Mystic Roots Band – Cali-Hi 
The Ambassador – New Roots 
Todo Mundo - Organic Fire 
Top Shelf - The Sound 

Best Local Recording 
Ale Mania - A, Who Sings That Beat?
Bianca Paras – Begin Again 
Danielle Lo Presti & the Masses – Run With It 
Jane Lui – Goodnight Company 
Steven Ybarra – Best Days 
The Riders - Acoustic Duo 
The Touchies – Friends of the Friendless 
Writer - Miss Mermaid 


See all events on Friday, Oct 28